- September 29, 2020
- Posted by: REBL
- Category: COVID-19 Q&A, Human Resources
Reality Check… we are all talking about COVID-19 or anything that has to do about the COVID-19 pandemic but this is currently the new normal. However, let us forget about COVID-19 for a while and bring to your attention other labor deadlines you would need to meet before we bid good riddance to the year 2020.
CalSavers ERISA Deadline
CalSavers is a retirement savings program for private-sector workers whose employers do not offer a retirement plan. This program gives employers an easy way to help their employees save for retirement, with no employer fees, no fiduciary responsibility, and minimal ongoing responsibilities. CalSavers is exempt from the Employee Retirement Income Security Act simply known as ERISA.
Employers with 100 or more employees must participate in CalSavers if they do not already have a workplace retirement plan. Initially, the deadline to register was June 30, 2020, for this group size, however, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the first registration deadline is extended to September 30, 2020.
Employers who already offer an employer-sponsored retirement plan are exempt, and thus, can attest to and certify the employer’s exempt status during the online registration process on the CalSavers website.
In addition, California law requires that CalSavers conduct an open enrollment period once every two years during which eligible employees that previously opted out shall be re-invited to participate under automatic enrollment and must opt-out again if they still do not wish to participate in the program.
Sexual Harassment Training for Non-Supervisors
Specifically, by January 1, 2021, employers with five or more employees must provide one hour of sexual harassment prevention training to nonsupervisory employees and two hours of such training to supervisors.
These new requirements expand the prior harassment training law, which required employers with 50 or more employees to provide sexual harassment prevention training to all supervisors in California
Training must take place within six months of hire or promotion and every two years thereafter.
Beginning January 1, 2021, seasonal and temporary employees or employees hired to work less than 6 months, must be trained within 30 calendar days after hire or within 100 hours worked, whichever is earlier.
As with prior law, harassment prevention training must include information and practical guidance about federal and state sexual harassment laws, including harassment prevention, correction, and remedies. The training must be “interactive.” The Department of Fair Employment and Housing or the DFEH has also developed an online course but keep in mind it is more beneficial to you and your employees if the training and scenarios provided to them are industry specific.
If you would like to know more about how the FLORES HR Team can help YOU stay compliant and be valiant give us a call… Together I am positive we can smoothly surf the rough waters.